Question: What is the hierarchy of fall protection?

In order of best to worst, these solutions are: Hazard Elimination, Passive Fall Protection, Fall Restraint, Fall Arrest, and Administrative Controls.

What are the 4 types of fall protection?

All active fall protection for the construction industry falls into four basic categories: fall arrest, positioning, suspension, and retrieval. OSHA provides standards for each category of fall protection.

What are the 3 parts of a fall protection system?

A PFAS (personal fall arrest system) consists of three major components: • a full-body harness; • a shock-absorbing lanyard or retractable lifeline; • secure anchors.

Which fall protection is better than the others?

In general, it is better to use fall prevention systems, such as guardrails, than fall protection systems, such as safety nets/fall arrest devices. That’s because prevention systems prevent falls from occurring in the first place.

What are the 3 types of harnesses?

Types of safety harnesses

  • Vest-type harness.
  • Parachute or full-body harness.
  • Single-strap harness.
  • Chest harness.
  • Remember! If you do fall, practice your 3 R’s: Rescue, Relief, Recover.
IT IS INTERESTING:  How does the skull protect the body?

What are the 2 types of fall protection?

There are two major types of fall arrest: general (nets) and personal (lifelines). The fall arrest system only comes into service when or if a fall occurs. According to OSHA standards, only retractable lifelines, or full-body harnesses with shock-absorbing lanyards are accepted as personal fall arrest systems.


A typical Personal Fall Arrest System (PFAS) incorporates three components often described as the ABC’s of fall protection. The anchorage/anchorage connector, body support and connecting device, when used together, form a complete fall arrest system for maximum worker protection.

Which is the best fall control?

The preferred solution to all fall hazards is elimination. The reason for exposure to the fall hazard is challenged and evaluated to determine if a change in the procedure, practice, location or equipment will eliminate exposure to the fall hazard.

What is the most common secondary fall protection system?

Typical secondary fall arrest systems include safety scaffolds, safety nets and personal fall protection equipment (PPE) when implemented to arrest falls.

What is passive fall protection?

A passive fall protection system encompasses all protective measures that are in essence static, fixed, or unmoving. There is no human interaction with the system involved after installation and there is no need of personal protective gearing.

At what height is fall protection required on scaffolds?

The standard requires employers to protect each employee on a scaffold more than 10 feet (3.1 m) above a lower level from falling to that lower level.

What are the two types of harness?

Different Types of Harnesses

  • Electrician’s Harness. Buy Now > This specially-designed electrical harness ensures that electrical workers remain safe while operating at height. …
  • One-Point Harness. Buy Now > One-point harnesses are ideal if you’re looking for something affordable and simple. …
  • Three-Point Harness. Buy Now >
IT IS INTERESTING:  Question: Can a therapy dog also be a guard dog?

What is a Class 2 harness?


As the name implies, seat harnesses fit the body much like an actual seat would. They consist of a belt that goes around the waist and two smaller belts that loop around the wearer’s thighs. The leg loops are attached to the belt with straps, and each component is adjustable.

What is a Type D full body harness?

Class A is designed to support the body during and after a fall arrest event. It has one dorsal Class I connector affixed to both shoulder straps. Class D is designed for suspension or controlled descent from a height.