Quick Answer: Is familial status a protected class in New York?

Familial status as a protected category in employment was added to the Human Rights Law by amendment by the Laws of 2015, chapter 365, effective January 19, 2015.

Is family status a protected class?

The Fair Housing Act (FHA) outlaws discrimination against tenants based on certain personal characteristics, commonly known as “protected classes.” The FHA added “familial status” as a protected class in 1989 to make sure that families with children aren’t treated differently when renting.

What are the protected classes in New York?

What Are the Protected Classes in New York?

  • Race.
  • Color.
  • National origin.
  • Religion.
  • Sex (including pregnancy, childbirth, and related medical conditions)
  • Disability (physical or mental)
  • Age (40 and older)
  • Citizenship status.

Is familial status a protected class under Title VII?

Title VII of the Civil Rights Act prohibits employment discrimination on the basis of race, color, religion, national origin, or sex. … Similarly, the Fair Housing Act prohibits discrimination in housing and lending because of race, color, religion, sex, national origin, familial status, or disability.

IT IS INTERESTING:  How do you secure a website source code?

Is marital status a protected class in New York?

Marital status is a protected class under both New York State law and New York City law. Federal law also provides protections to a federal employees based on their marital status.

Which groups are protected by familial status?

Familial status covers: families with children under the age of 18, pregnant persons, and. any person in the process of securing legal custody of a minor child (including adoptive or foster parents).

Is familial status same as marital status?

As far as familial status protection is concerned under the FHA, it makes no difference if the adult members of the family are married, divorced, single, widowed, or separated. So, for example, a single father with one child is protected just as much as a married couple with three children.

Which of the following classes is not protected under the Fair Housing Act of 1968?

Race, color, religion, sex, handicap, familial status, national origin. Although some interest groups have tried to lobby to include sexual orientation and marital status, these aren’t protected classes under the federal law, but are sometimes protected by certain local state fair housing laws. 4.

What are the 14 protected categories?

Federal protected classes include:

  • Race.
  • Color.
  • Religion or creed.
  • National origin or ancestry.
  • Sex (including gender, pregnancy, sexual orientation, and gender identity).
  • Age.
  • Physical or mental disability.
  • Veteran status.

How many protected classes are there in NYC?

Gender / Gender identity/expression. Lawful occupation. Lawful source of income. Marital status.

What is parental status discrimination?

Index | Your Rights | Protect Your Rights | Firm Homepage. Marital and parental status discrimination, also called familial status discrimination, is discrimination in the workplace based on whether an employee is married or single, or whether they have children or not.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Best answer: Do I need Kaspersky and Malwarebytes?

Is exempt from the familial status protection?

A community qualifies as housing for older persons and is exempt from the prohibition against familial status discrimination if: 1) HUD has determined that it is specifically designed for and occupied by elderly persons under a federal, state or local government program; 2) it is 100% occupied by persons 62 or older; …

What classes are not protected under federal law?

Under federal law, employers cannot discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, religion, sex, age, or disability.

What is the New York State Human Rights Law?

The New York Human Rights Law (NYHRL) is article 15 of the Executive Law (which is itself chapter 18 of the Consolidated Laws of New York) which prohibits discrimination on the basis of “age, race, creed, color, national origin, sexual orientation, military status, sex, marital status or disability” in employment, …

Can you discriminate based on marital status?

Federal law doesn’t prohibit discrimination on the basis of an employee’s or applicant’s marital status. … Even if your state prohibits discrimination based on a person’s marital status, however, it isn’t clear that your employer has violated the law.