What are the 4 goals of fire protection?

Four goals: (a) prevent fire from starting, (b) prevent loss of life in case fire does start, (c) confine fire to its origin, and (d) extinguish fire.

What are the goals of fire protection?

The goals of fire-prevention programs include preventing loss of life, property damage, and downtime in use of a building. Fires often can cause disruption of business activities, loss of business documents, loss of employee work hours, and liability claims resulting from the spread of fire to adjacent properties.

What are 4 things a fire safety plan should include?

At a minimum, your fire prevention plan must include: A list of all major fire hazards, proper handling and storage procedures for hazardous materials, potential ignition sources and their control, and the type of fire protection equipment necessary to control each major hazard.

What is fire prevention and protection?

Fire prevention measures are a key element in the fire safety management of institute. … A fire can be prevented or extinguished by removing any one of the elements in the fire tetrahedron. Essentially all four elements must be present for fire to occur, heat, fuel oxygen, and a chemical chain reaction.

IT IS INTERESTING:  What are the security practices?

What is Stage 1 of the 4 key stage of fire?

1. Incipient –Incipient is known as the first stage of fire. As the fire triangle elements like oxygen, fuel and spark/heat combine with each other and continuous chemical reaction resulting is breaking out of fire. This incipient stage of fire is also known as ignition.

What is a fire protection plan?

A fire safety plan is a detailed document that covers all aspects of fire safety for a specific building or property. The plan will outline: A safe and orderly way for occupants to evacuate the building. … Methods of control that minimize the damage from fires when they do occur.

What are the three basic principles of fire control?

Thus, there are three conditions essential for fire: fuel, oxygen, and heat (or ignition source). These three conditions are often represented as the fire triangle. If one of these conditions is missing, fire does not occur; and if one of them is removed, fire is extinguished.

What is in a fire plan?

A FEEP, fire emergency evacuation plan, is a document that includes information regarding fire safety. In this plan, there are outlined steps that detail the actions that should be taken by employees and/or staff members if there is a fire within the walls of the building.

What are the 4 main stages of fire?

Compartment fire development can be described as being comprised of four stages: incipient, growth, fully developed and decay (see Figure 1).

What are the 4 behaviors of fire?

Fire behavior includes such things as how fast a fire burns (rate of spread), how hot it burns (fire intensity), the presence of fire whirls, and ember production and spotting.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Frequent question: How can you protect your client information?

What are four stages of fire?

The NFPA and most other standards classify four stages of a fire.

  • Ignition.
  • Growth.
  • Fully Developed.
  • Decay.