What are the two basic types of protective relays?

Types of Protective Relay There are two operating principles: electromagnetic attraction and electromagnetic induction.

What are the two types of relays?

Types of Relays – A Thomas Buying Guide

  • Relays are electrically operated switches. …
  • Electromechanical relays have an electromagnetic coil and a mechanical movable contact. …
  • Solid-state relays are solid-state electronic components that do not have any moving components, which increases their long-term reliability.

How many types of protection relays are there?

Based on operation mechanism protection relay can be categorized as electromagnetic relay, static relay and mechanical relay. Actually, a relay is nothing but a combination of one or more open or closed contacts.

What is meant by protective relay?

In electrical engineering, a protective relay is a relay device designed to trip a circuit breaker when a fault is detected. … Important transmission lines and generators have cubicles dedicated to protection, with many individual electromechanical devices, or one or two microprocessor relays.

How do protective relays work?

Protective relay work as a sensing device, it senses the fault, then known its position and finally, it gives the tripping command to the circuit breaker. … The relay must come into action whenever there is a fault and must not operate if there is no fault. Some relays are used for the protection of the power system.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Best answer: Why is security management important for a business organization?

What are the types of relays?

Types of Relays

  • Electromagnetic Relays.
  • Latching Relays.
  • Electronic Relays.
  • Non-Latching Relays.
  • Reed Relays.
  • High-Voltage Relays.
  • Small Signal Relays.
  • Time Delay Relays.

What are the different types of electromagnetic relays?

Depending upon working principle these can be divided into following types of electromagnetic relays.

  • Attracted Armature type relay,
  • Induction Disc type relay,
  • Induction Cup type relay,
  • Balanced Beam type relay,
  • Moving coil type relay,
  • Polarized Moving Iron type relay.

What are the types of protection?

Types of protection

  • High-voltage transmission network. …
  • Generator sets. …
  • Overload and back-up for distance (overcurrent) …
  • Earth fault/ground fault. …
  • Distance (impedance relay) …
  • Back-up. …
  • Low-voltage networks. …
  • Cybersecurity.

Which two are contradictory attributes of a good protective relay?

A protective relaying scheme should have certain important qualities such as;

  • Reliability.
  • Speed and Time.
  • Sensitivity.
  • Selectivity and discrimination.
  • Stability.
  • Simplicity.
  • Economy.
  • Adequateness.

What is relay and classification of relay?

Basically, a relay is a device with contacts that opens and closes a switch as the result of an input signal (voltage or current) applied to a coil. … Classification of relay can be mainly into two types: mechanical relays and solid state relays.

What are the basic requirement of protective relay?

Fundamental Requirements of Protective Relay:

Selectivity. Speed. Sensitivity. Reliability.

What is MHO relay?

Mho relay is a voltage restrained directional relay. Important Points: Reactance relay is suitable for the protection of a short transmission line because its operation is independent of arc resistance. The relay which is selected for a long transmission line should be less affected due to power swings.

IT IS INTERESTING:  What is web security explain the requirements of web security?

What type of protective relay is used in induction motor?

Thermal overload relay is commonly used for motor overload protection. Both act to open the motor circuit and therefore to disconnect the motor from the source of supply. HRC fuses provide very rapid short circuit protection.