Quick Answer: Which groups are protected by familial status?

Familial status means the makeup of your family. The FHA prohibits discrimination on this basis including: children under the age of 18 living with parents/guardians, pregnant women, and people seeking custody of children under 18.

Who is protected by familial status?

Familial status covers: families with children under the age of 18, pregnant persons, and. any person in the process of securing legal custody of a minor child (including adoptive or foster parents).

Is familial status a protected class?

The Fair Housing Act (FHA) outlaws discrimination against tenants based on certain personal characteristics, commonly known as “protected classes.” The FHA added “familial status” as a protected class in 1989 to make sure that families with children aren’t treated differently when renting.

What is familial status?

1. What does the phrase “familial status” mean? o “Familial status” means having a child under age 18 in the household, whether living with a parent, a legal custodian, or their designee. It also covers a woman who is pregnant, and people in the process of adopting or gaining custody of child/children.

IT IS INTERESTING:  You asked: What is the purpose of the federal information security Management Act?

Which of the following would be protected under the familial status class of the Fair Housing Act?

Familial status is one of a handful of protected classes under the Fair Housing Act (FHA). … Title VIII of the Civil Rights Act of 1968 (Fair Housing Act) prohibits discrimination in the sale, rental and financing of dwellings based on race, color, religion, sex or national origin.

Which of the following groups is not protected under federal housing laws?

Race, color, religion, sex, handicap, familial status, national origin. Although some interest groups have tried to lobby to include sexual orientation and marital status, these aren’t protected classes under the federal law, but are sometimes protected by certain local state fair housing laws.

Which family is not protected under the familial status provisions of the fair housing Act?

Which family is NOT protected under the familial status provisions of the Fair Housing Act? The answer is a 55-year-old father, 40-year-old mother, and 17-year-old son who want to purchase a home in an age-restricted adults-only community.

Does familial status include marital status?

As far as familial status protection is concerned under the FHA, it makes no difference if the adult members of the family are married, divorced, single, widowed, or separated. So, for example, a single father with one child is protected just as much as a married couple with three children.

What are the seven protected classes?

The new law expands the definition of “source of income” under California law. To briefly review, the federal Fair Housing Act (FHA) has seven protected classes, which include: race, color, religion, national origin, sex, disability, and familial status.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Why is my AVG antivirus not active?

What is discrimination of family status?

Discrimination on the ‘family status ground’ occurs where there is less favourable treatment of one person compared to another person because one person has a family status and the other does not, or has a different family status.

How many protected classes are there?

According to federal law, especially since the enactment of the Civil Rights Act in 1964, there are 10 classes or categories of people that are legally protected from discrimination.

What are the 14 protected categories?

Federal protected classes include:

  • Race.
  • Color.
  • Religion or creed.
  • National origin or ancestry.
  • Sex (including gender, pregnancy, sexual orientation, and gender identity).
  • Age.
  • Physical or mental disability.
  • Veteran status.