Your question: What do we mean by protected characteristics?

Protected characteristics are specific aspects of a person’s identity defined by the Equality Act 2010. The ‘protection’ relates to protection from discrimination.

Why are the 9 protected characteristics important?

Everyone has at least of few of the nine protected characteristics, so as an employer, it’s important you make sure an employee isn’t treated less favourably because of theirs. … The Act covers an employer’s legal responsibility to protect their employees from discrimination based on nine outlined characteristics.

What are the protected characteristics of the Equality Act 2010?

The characteristics that are protected by the Equality Act 2010 are:

  • age.
  • disability.
  • gender reassignment.
  • marriage or civil partnership (in employment only)
  • pregnancy and maternity.
  • race.
  • religion or belief.
  • sex.

What are the 4 main types of discrimination?

There are 4 main types of discrimination under the Equality Act:

  • Direct discrimination.
  • Indirect discrimination.
  • Harassment.
  • Victimisation.

How many protected classes are there?

According to federal law, especially since the enactment of the Civil Rights Act in 1964, there are 10 classes or categories of people that are legally protected from discrimination.

IT IS INTERESTING:  What can you do with a cyber security diploma?

What are the 10 protected characteristics?

Federal protected classes include:

  • Race.
  • Color.
  • Religion or creed.
  • National origin or ancestry.
  • Sex (including gender, pregnancy, sexual orientation, and gender identity).
  • Age.
  • Physical or mental disability.
  • Veteran status.

What section is the protected characteristics?

Section 4 The protected characteristics.

What are protected characteristics in employment law?

As stated on the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission’s (EOCC) website, these are eight protected characteristics in the United States in the context of employment discrimination: race, color, religion, sex, national origin, age, disability, and genetic information.

What are the 7 types of discrimination?

Types of Discrimination

  • Age Discrimination.
  • Disability Discrimination.
  • Sexual Orientation.
  • Status as a Parent.
  • Religious Discrimination.
  • National Origin.
  • Pregnancy.
  • Sexual Harassment.

What are the 6 types of discrimination?

What are the different types of discrimination?

  • Direct discrimination. …
  • Indirect discrimination. …
  • Comparators in direct discrimination cases. …
  • Justifying discrimination. …
  • Pregnancy and maternity discrimination. …
  • Absence from work because of gender reassignment. …
  • Discrimination connected to your disability.

Is paternity a protected characteristic?

‘(6A) The protected period, in relation to paternity, begins with pregnancy and ends 52 weeks after the child is born. … This amendment includes pregnancy and maternity as a protected characteristic in cases of indirect discrimination.

Which of the following is a protected class characteristic?

Applicants, employees and former employees are protected from employment discrimination based on race, color, religion, sex (including pregnancy, sexual orientation, or gender identity), national origin, age (40 or older), disability and genetic information (including family medical history).

Is class a protected characteristic?

Social class is not a protected characteristic in the Equality Act 2010 however it has close links to poor health and other forms of inequality.

IT IS INTERESTING:  What happens if you restore security settings to factory default?

What is a protected employee?

Know your protected classes – A protected class employee is someone who cannot be discriminated against because of their legal status. … If you assess that your problem employee is in a protected class, proceed with extreme caution, lest any action you take be the basis for a discrimination lawsuit or enforcement action.